Storymoja Festival Countdown – Day 29

Alexander-Nderitu-profileDay 29Countdown to the Storymoja Festival 2014


Come Meet:::

Alexander Nderitu is a Kenyan Writer and IT expert. In 2001, he became one of Africa’s first ‘digital novelists’ with the Internet publication of his signature thriller, ‘When the Whirlwind Passes’.
‘The Nairobian’ newspaper has dubbed him ‘the face of digital publishing in the country’.
He is currently the Deputy Secretary-General of PEN Kenya. His most recent works are ‘The Moon is Made of Green Cheese‘ (poetry) and ‘Kiss, Commander, Promise’ (short stories).
  His literature is available in English, Japanese and Arabic.
Published Works
  – ‘When the Whirlwind Passes’ (2001)
– ‘The Moon is Made of Green Cheese’ (2008)
– ‘Kiss, Commander, Promise’ (2011)
– ‘Africa on My Mind’ (2013)

(Information courtesy of Storymoja Festival…read more)


The Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2014- Plan to Enter Now

If you’re a writer, here’s an opportunity to expand your writer’s profile.  The 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2014 is around the corner.  The chance to enter is now.

About The Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Commonwealth Writers develops the craft of individual writers and builds communities of emerging voices which can influence the decision-making processes affecting their lives. The Short Story Prize aims to identify talented writers who will go on to inspire their local communities.

The 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize will be chaired by Ellah Allfrey, Deputy Chair of the Council of the Caine Prize and previously Deputy Editor of Granta and Senior Editor at Jonathan Cape, Random House.

The Short Story Prize enables writers to enter from countries where there is little or no publishing industry.  Authors writing in languages other than English are also able to enter stories translated into English. The Prize unearths and promotes the best new writing from across the Commonwealth, developing literary connections worldwide.

The Short Story Prize is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2000-5000 words). Regional winners will receive £2,500 and the Overall Winner will receive £5,000. Translators will receive additional prize money.

 Opening Date for this chance is on 1 October 2013 and the Closing date is on Saturday 30 November 2013.  Entries must be submitted via the online entry form by Saturday 30 November 2013 (12 noon GMT). No entries will be considered if submitted after this date.

These are the Entry Rules, check them out and find out if you can try for a chance to win this prize.

Learn more about this opportunity on their Website: